April 21, 2024


It's Your Education

Four NU faculty members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Northwestern faculty elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


4 Northwestern college associates were elected as members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, becoming a member of a distinguished group of folks these as Albert Einstein, Martin Luther King Jr. and Bryan Stevenson. 

Sociology Prof. Wendy Griswold, SESP Prof. C. Kirabo Jackson, sociology Prof. James Mahoney and physics and astronomy and Feinberg Prof. Sara A. Solla were being amongst the 261 picked artists, students, experts and leaders in the public, nonprofit and personal sectors. 

“Membership is an honor, and also an option to condition ideas and influence plan,” ​​Nancy Andrews, chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors, explained in an April 28 news launch. 

Griswold, the Bergen Evans professor in the humanities, has posted several guides and is at present crafting a book on American cultural regionalism. She is also doing work on a comparative examine of educated youth’s studying tactics in 12 nations and arranging a analysis symposium on “Global and Area Procedures of 21st-Century African Artists.” 

Jackson is the Abraham Harris professor of training and social coverage and a college fellow with the Institute for Policy Investigation. As a labor economist, his get the job done contains analyzing challenges this sort of as the significance of general public faculty funding on pupil results and the influence of scholar demographics on teacher good quality throughout schools.

Mahoney is the Gordon Fulcher professor in conclusion-making and a comparative-historic researcher with pursuits in political growth, Latin America and methodology. His most latest e-book is “The Logic of Social Science,” and he has gained numerous awards for his work on methodology from the American Sociological Association and the American Political Science Association. 

Solla’s research interests involve the application of statistical mechanics to the examination of elaborate methods. As a result of her analysis, she has studied the data processing capabilities of neuron networks and the dynamics of incremental studying algorithms. At NU, her emphasis is on theoretical and computational neuroscience at the methods level.  

David Oxtoby, president of the Academy, mentioned the Academy is celebrating the various achievements of those selected.

“These men and women excel in strategies that excite us and encourage us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending experience and operating toward the typical great is unquestionably necessary to knowing a much better upcoming,” Oxtoby mentioned in the release. 

E mail: [email protected]

Twitter: @carolinelbrew

Associated Tales:

Conversation alumni Zury Cutler nominated for Webby Award with docuseries ‘Climate Now’

Local historians gain award for report on Evanston’s record of racial discrimination

Northwestern faculty acknowledged with Provost Award for Exemplary Faculty Company